Advisory Group

Established by the United Nations General Assembly in 2005, the CERF Advisory Group provides the Secretary-General with periodic policy guidance and expert advice on the use and impact of CERF.

The group does this through the Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator (USG/ERC), who manages CERF’s day-to-day operations on the Secretary-General’s behalf.

Advisory Group members serve in their individual capacity, and not as representatives of their countries or Governments. They include Government officials from contributing and recipient countries, representatives of humanitarian non-governmental organizations and academic experts. Members have been carefully selected to reflect a geographical and gender balance.

CERF Advisory Group 2015-2016

CERF Advisory Group members meet in New York on 21-22 March 2016.

Back Row: L-R: Mr. Stephen O'Brien (Under-Secretary-General for Humanitarian Affairs and Emergency Relief Coordinator), Dr. Ashraf Shikhaliyev (Azerbaijan), Mr. Per Örneus (Sweden), Dr. Julius Oketta (Uganda), Mr. Joost  Andriessen (the Netherlands), Dr. Eltje Aderhold (Germany).

Front Row: L-R:  Mr. Manuel Bessler (Switzerland),  Ms. Jette Michelsen (Denmark), Mr. Samson Palia Wangusi (Kenya), Ms. Judy Cheng-Hopkins (Malaysia), Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, Ms. Nozipho Mxakato-Diseko (South Africa),  Ms. Christina Buchan (Canada), Ms. Rachel Turner (UK), Ms. Lisa Doughten (Chief CERF secretariat).

CERF Advisory Group Members 2015-2016

Mr. Ashraf Shikhaliyev


The Azerbaijan International Development Agency (AIDA)



Ms. Christina Buchan


Humanitarian Organizations and Food Assistance (DFATD)



Ms. María Andrea Albán Durán


International Cooperation Agency

Ministry of Foreign Affairs


Mr. Nestor Koko


Permanent Mission of Côte d’Ivoire

to the United Nations in New York

Côte d’Ivoire


Ms. Jette Michelsen   
Chief Advisor
Department for Humanitarian Action Civil Society and Personnel Assistance


Dr. Eltje Aderhold

Head of Division

Task Force for Humanitarian Aid of the Federal Foreign Office



Mr. Samson Palia Wangusi

Deputy Secretary and Head of Kenya

Relief and Rehabilitation Department



Ms. Judy Cheng-Hopkins

Adjunct Professor (Peacebuilding)

Columbia University



Mr. Jozef H.L.M. Andriessen

Stabilisation and Humanitarian Aid Dept. 

Ministry of Foreign Affairs

The Netherlands

Mr. Jesus (Gary) S. Domingo

Assistant Secretary of Foreign Affairs

Office of the United Nations and International Organizations, Department of Foreign Affairs



Dr. Ahmed Al-Meraikhi

Director of the Department of International

Development Ministry of Foreign Affairs, and Director-General of the Qatar Development Fund



Ambassador Seokyoung Choi

Ambassador and Permanent Representative

Korea to the Office of the United Nations and Other International Organizations in Geneva

Republic of Korea


Ambassador Nozipho Mxakato-Diseko

Global Governance and Continental Agenda

Department of International Relations and Cooperation

South Africa


Mr. Per Örneus

Swedish Ambassador for Humanitarian Affairs




Ambassador Manuel Bessler

Head of Swiss Humanitarian Aid (SHA)

Swiss Agency for Development and

Cooperation SDC, Ministry of Foreign Affairs



Major General Dr. Julius Oketta


National Emergency Operations and Coordination Centre, Office of the Prime Minister, Department of Relief, Disaster Preparedness and Management



Ms. Najla Alkaabi

Assistant Undersecretary

International Cooperation Sector, Ministry of International Cooperation and Development (MICAD)

United Arab Emirates


Ms. Rachel Turner


East and Central Africa Department, Department for International Development (DFID)

United Kingdom