Common Humanitarian Fund (CHF)

Young girl learns English in Mercy Corps built Temporary Learning Space (TLS) in Marial Boma Primary School, Guit County, Unity State. Supported by CHF, 2012The Common Humanitarian Fund (CHF) is a tool to provide flexible and predictable financing to promote greater effectiveness, accountability and partnership in humanitarian action. The CHF is part of the pooled funding element of the humanitarian reform process and is managed by the UN Humanitarian Coordinator, with support from OCHA and UNDP. Following the independence of South Sudan, the CHF South Sudan was set up at the beginning of 2012.

Goal: The CHF in South Sudan aims to support the timely allocation and disbursement of donor resources to the most critical humanitarian needs in the country.

Objective: The CHF in South Sudan intends to improve the humanitarian response by providing rapid, flexible and predictable funds for humanitarian programmes; strengthening the planning and coordination process; channeling funds towards the most urgent needs; and ensuring that funds are available for rapid responses to unforeseen needs.

Allocation Model
A standard allocation mechanism, is used to allocate the bulk of the CHF resources (up to 80 per cent) and to ensure funding for priority projects in the consolidated appeal (CAP) framework. Two allocation rounds per year are envisaged under the standard allocation mechanism. A reserve mechanism is used for the rapid and flexible allocation of funds to meet unforeseen needs or critical gaps. Projects in and outside the CAP will be eligible for allocation of funds from the reserve.

Duration: CHF grant duration is 12 months effective from date of allocation approval.

Applicant Eligibility: Funding proposals are accepted from UN/IOM, the Red Cross Movement, International and National Non-Governmental Humanitarian Organizations.


Areas of Interventions:
•    Coordination and Common Services
•    Education
•    Emergency Telecommunications
•    Food Security and Livelihood
•    Health
•    Logistics
•    Mine Action
•    Non-Food Items and Emergency Shelter
•    Nutrition
•    Protection
•    Water, Sanitation and Hygiene
•    Multi-sector (Emergency Returns and Refugees)
 

Contact Details of Humanitarian Financing Unit

Name Title Contact
OCHA South Sudan Team
Federica D'Andreagiovanni Head of Humanitarian Financing Unit dandreagiovannif@un.org
Thomas Nyambane Humanitarian Affairs Officer nyambane@un.org
Meron Berhane Humanitarian Affairs Officer berhanem@un.org
Kizito Iranya National Humanitarian Affairs Officer kizito@un.org
Anne-Sophie LeBeux Monitoring and Reporting Officer lebeux@un.org
UNDP South Sudan Team
Ashutosh Jha Programme Specialist ashutosh.jha@undp.org
Ahmed Rajab Finance Associate ahmed.rajab@undp.org
Blessing Kachere Contracting Officer blessing.kachere@undp.org
Christine Alex Office Support christine.alex@undp.org
UNDP/MDTF New York Team
Olga Aleshina Senior Portfolio Manager olga.aleshina@undp.org
Ernesto Calderon Portfolio Analyst ernesto.calderon@undp.org
Myasanda Hlaing Operations Associate myasanda.hlaing@undp.org
Particia Stockeyr Programmer Associate matricia.stockeyr@undp.org